Father’s Day on the Wings of a Butterfly

On a challenging bike ride up to Doi Suthep in the mountains outside the city of Chiang Mai, a bubbling well of emotion began spewing forth and its desire to purge itself from me was greater than my ability to control it. As I walked my broken bike up a steep hill in heaving sobs, a black butterfly with cobalt blue and cream speckled wings appeared, glided past me and grabbed my attention. He circled around and landed to the side of me. It was a pause. He was asking me to slow down, to catch my breath and to let the tears dry. He was also asking me to remember that the struggle is only half the journey. His soft landing on a wildflower was the calm and meditative place I could not find. Sit there and find the joy in the moment, he whispered. And as soon as I thought he had left my side, I turned and there he was once again. Thanks Dad for finding me in Thailand. You are loved and missed. Happy Father’s Day.

20120617-225346.jpg

4 thoughts on “Father’s Day on the Wings of a Butterfly

  1. Melissa says:

    i’m happy you wrote. I think he is too. even though he already knows. love

  2. Sangeeta says:

    Thank you for sharing this powerful sentiment…LOVE traveles and Love transforms..embrace it .Love from Houston<3

  3. Fawnie71 says:

    Thank you.

  4. […] wiped out from the bike ride and the emotional roller coaster ride I had been on that morning, I gazed up in amazement at the 309 […]

Leave a Reply

